Feature articles

28 March 2017

BPMA Award winners announced at BPCA 75th Anniversary Dinner

BPMA award winners 2017Presented at the glitzy East Wintergarden, Canary Wharf at BPCA's 75th Anniversary dinner, Wednesday 22 March saw the inaugural British Pest Management Awards take place. Presented at the glitzy East Wintergarden, Canary Wharf at BPCA's 75th Anniversary dinner, Wednesday 22 March saw the inaugural British Pest Management Awards take place.

With a shortlist of entrants from around the UK, the event marked the first cross-industry awards evening open to all the pest management professionals operating in the UK. The BPMAs acknowledge the difference individuals and companies can make to portray a positive image of the pest management industry in terms of public health, food safety, environmental sustainability and economic significance.

Five awards were presented at the awards dinner. The winners were as follows:

Charles Keeble
Outstanding commitment and performance in training and development
Chris Davis from Cleankill

Technician of the Year
Outstanding performance as a pest management professional
Ian Dudley from Ecolab

Unsung Hero
Outstanding support to the pest management industry
Alan Buckle from CRRU

Small Company of the Year
Outstanding pest management service
The Bristol Pest Controller

Company of the Year
Outstanding pest management service
Beaver Pest Control

Paul Rodman, BPCA President, said:

"One of the principle reasons for the BPMAs is to showcase excellence within the pest management sector. It's an opportunity to reward the people that are making the extra effort for the industry and for their organisations, which in turn benefits everybody.

What makes these awards unique is that large, small and medium size companies can all take part in the awards and be recognised for their contributions."

Although the awards were judged by a panel with no access to the company names, it's interesting to note that both Companies of the Year are BPCA Servicing Member companies, and the Charles Keeble award and Technician of the Year were presented to employees of BPCA member companies.

Interviews from all the award winners will be available in the upcoming edition of PPC magazine.

For information on entering or supporting the 2018 British Pest Management Awards contact awards@bpca.org.uk to register your interest.

Scott-Johnstone-Staff-bubbleScott Johnstone
Communications Officer

28 April 2017  |  BPCA.org.uk

Source: bpca.org.uk

Highlights View all news

03 August 2020

Latest news

Engaging with pest control clients post-Covid-19

BUSINESS | PPC100 August 2020 You would have to be living in a cave for the last four months not to know that we are living in strange times. Chris Cagienard, director and field biolo

Read more

09 July 2020

Latest news

BPCA helps put auditors straight on insecticide usage requirements for public health pest management

BPCA has had reports of auditors asking pest professionals for Pa1 Pa6 pesticide training certificates. The use of insecticides for public health pests does not require the user to have P

Read more

30 June 2020

Latest news

Open letter to Natural England: Individual licences for gull control in England, this year and beyond

Today, BPCA has written to Dave Slater, the Director for wildlife licensing at Natural England regarding the future of individual licences for gull control.  The letter expresse

Read more
Latest View all news

05 August 2020

Latest news

Contego launches charity fundraising pledge

BPCA member Contego continues long-standing tradition of charitable giving back with launch of its 'Pledge to Make a Difference'.  Contego got off the ground in 2004, follo

Read more

05 August 2020

Latest news

Should I sign that? Contracts and small print with BEB Consultancy

In this guest blog, specialist contracts and legal services expert BEB Consultancy talk about how to approach written contracts, hidden terms and reading the small print. Thousands of

Read more

05 August 2020

Latest news

PestEx 2021 exhibition stands at 50% sold or reserved

PestEx 2021 stands are already at 50% sold or reserved, as the industry looks forward to its first big event post-Covid-19 lockdown next March. With the London ExCeL confirming

Read more